Question about Japanese dubbing in the new Shenmue II port

Favourite title
Shenmue IIx
Currently playing
Ghost of Tsushima
PSN
mjqjazzbar
On one of the streams with Adam and James, they discussed how it'd be very difficult to add an improved dub (from a sound quality perspective) to either game, if one exists, due to hardware/software constraints. My question is: did a Japanese dub for Shenmue 2 Xbox ever exist? I don't recall Shenmue II releasing for the Xbox outside of the US. Why would it be any easier to include the Japanese dub in the new Shenmue 2 port, which is based on the Xbox build, than it would be to include upgraded audio?

I am a complete layman, so I apologize for the possibly very stupid question.

The "upgraded" audio might not exist anymore. I'm hoping you mean the source audio files that were directly recorded by the voice actors.

Usually, if you can gain access to that, you wouldn't go around messing with compressed and proprietary formats found on actual game discs. But alas, they did exactly this, which leads me to believe that they lost the audio but somehow kept the source to the game.

That's what I mean, I guess! There were rumors flying the uncompressed audio files still existed because the Sega Kart Racing game with Ryo apparently uses improved audio samples for Ryo.

It's possible.

Just curious if the notion it'd be technologically impossible (were the voice recordings to exist) or "too complicated," as suggested in those vids, is true when considering D3T was able to use the Japanese voice acting in a port that never featured Japanese voice acting.

There was never an Xbox Shenmue II with Japanese in it and it's safe to say that there were never any plans to release it in that fashion. On a side note, the Xbox version got a release in Europe too, wich means that we actually got the best Shenmue II deal of the whole world, natively getting both versions.